There has been lots of confusion on how a person can obtain medical cannabis products in Minnesota. This is an attempt to help people understand the process. This is certainly not an endorsement of the process either as it took several days of studying the various bits of information in order to get to this level of understanding.
First a patient must meet one of the qualifying conditions. To find a list of the current qualifying conditions please follow this link – MDH-Conditions – . If you have a qualifying condition you must be seen by your health care practitioner.
Any health care practitioner can register with the state of Minnesota. So long as they are health care practitioner as defined by MN Law they can register with MDH to certify their patients.
“A health care practitioner is defined as a Minnesota-licensed doctor of medicine, a Minnesota-licensed physician assistant acting within the scope of authorized practice, or a Minnesota-licensed advanced practice registered nurse who has primary responsibility for care and treatment of the patient’s qualifying medical condition.” – MDH
They are able to find more information and register with the state at this link – Health Provider Information Registration – MDH – A doctor is not required to become registered with the state but in order to certify you meet the conditions they must register with the state. It appears there is no fee to the health care provider.
A health care provider may refer a patient to another health care provider who can certify you. The key is there needs to be a health care provider patient relationship. As there are no threats of federal intrusion or state repercussions and no cost to your provider, every health care provider in Minnesota or with a Minnesota license should register to certify patients. Medical practitioners are protected by the state of Minnesota for certification of patients.
Once your health care practitioner has certified you, or you have been certified by a health care practitioner, then you will get an email from the MDH. In the email will be a link that allows you to register with the MDH and get your registration. The fees are $200 and for some people as low as $50. You can find out more about the fee structure at this link MDH-Costs to Register.
Once you have received your certification and registration with MDH you can visit one of the dispensaries located around the state. They will probably need to set you up with an appointment to discuss your condition, medications and other things and then decide which of the preparations they have available will be the most help to you and your condition. Then you will be allowed to purchase that product.
Once you are in the program there are some reporting requirements which aren’t yet clear, but should be pretty simple to complete. The MDH and we also suggest you create a Email account that is not connected to you or as disconnected as possible as things change.
I hope this helps people looking to get into the terribly expensive and restrictive Minnesota Medical Cannabis Program such as it is.